“Benedict and Maria”

My good friend and third cousin, Francis Andrew Martin, was moved to write a song after reading through my account of our Mennonite ancestors and relatives. I am gratified and flattered that my work here has helped inspire him in his own form of artistry.

Francis has given me permission to share his song, “Benedict and Maria,” on my blog. Just click the following image to open the video (sorry, I don’t seem to be able to embed it right on this page). Please come back here to let Francis and me know what you think by leaving a comment below.

Benedict and Maria

Here are the lyrics:

Benedict and Maria

Benedict and Maria…
walked into marriage heaven in 1537
And so their family tree,
Sprouted Bennies 1, 2, 3
Then Christian Andrew Martin,
from whom my name was gotten.….
Now here I am.

Christian preached to the people…
Who chose the Menno faith
which knocked them out of place
With the Catholics and the rest
Who tried their level best
but in the end would fail
To kill or throw in jail.....
So here I am.

I’ve got Mennonite blood - like a river in my veins,
The peace, the love, the pain - over centuries remain.
In stories that were told – by the many I can’t name,
These are my kin. These are my kin.

Christian locked in a castle
To face his somber fate,
But he managed to escape.
Then with children and his wife
Saw hope for a new life,
Set sail towards the west
To find freedom, peace, and rest
Now here I am….

Pennsylvania meant freedom…
Worked their fingers to the bones
Tilled the land - built their homes
Grew like cornstalks on the land
Put down roots and made their stand
Worshipped simply, simply lived
Struggling to forgive
Now here I am….

I’ve got Mennonite blood - like a river in my veins,
The peace, the love, the pain - over centuries remain.
In stories that were told - by the many I can’t name,
These are my kin. These are my kin.

Time passes slowly…
Now it’s 18 and 03,
From the States some chose to leave
To Canada they’d roam
Waterloo County their new home.
Bought land and settled in,
growing crops and raising kin,
Now here I am.

Now I live in the city…
Benedict would not believe
The kind of life I lead,
Internet and smartphone
His mind completely blown,
But I still do embrace
These my people, this my place.
So here I am….

I’ve got Mennonite blood - like a river in my veins,
The peace, the love, the pain - over centuries remain.
In stories that were told - by so many I can’t name,
These are my kin. These are my kin.
 
                                     ~ Francis Martin, September 2020

10 thoughts on ““Benedict and Maria”

  1. Ardith September 7, 2020 / 9:43 am

    Looks to me like the “history bug” has bitten both of you . Thanks for expressing so well in your chosen crafts of writing and song.

    Like

    • Rick Martin September 7, 2020 / 10:01 am

      On Saturday, Francis and Frances and Sande and I did a bike tour from St Jacobs to Hawkesville to Wallenstein to Elmira and back to St Jacobs, mostly on trails and gravel roads and farmers’ lanes. We stopped at 4 cemeteries (to see the graves of our ancestors), our great-great-grandfather Peter G Martin’s farm, four meeting houses, a bakery, a general store, and a brewery. It was a very lovely experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Arlene Martin September 7, 2020 / 10:09 am

        Sounds lovely. Those towns are my “home”. Lived in Hawkesville for 40 years and now live in Elmira.

        Like

  2. Arlene Martin September 7, 2020 / 10:05 am

    I love this song and how Francis relates his life to his kin from much earlier times. It had me going back to the blog to reread the story of Benedict and Maria.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  3. Andy Martin September 7, 2020 / 4:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Enjoyed it much! The names of our ancestors strikes me right away: Benedict – named after the iconic 5th century monk who wrote the most influential monastic rule that continues to inspire Benedictines and many others to this day. Maria – (Mary) mother of Jesus/God – probably the most popular name for females in the West in the last 500 years. It is interesting to me that in Old Order groups “Mary” continues to be popular – another sign that Mennonites have not fallen far from the Roman Catholic tree even though they reacted/rejected Mariology and sacramentalism. And we should not forget that our family name – Martin – also comes from St. Martin one of the most recognized saints – according to Wikipedia.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tim September 8, 2020 / 12:21 pm

    What a fun song, Francis! Thanks for posting it, Rick.

    Like

  5. Wally Brubacher October 31, 2020 / 10:18 am

    Thank you, for the gift of writing and song, Francis and Rick, for the 500 Years of Migration.

    Like

  6. John L. Ruth November 24, 2020 / 2:41 am

    I enjoyed reading these thoughts and hearing the song down here in Pennsylvania, living on the land Gerhart Clemens bought in the year William Penn died. When Gerhart and wife Anneli had boarded a boat in London 9 years earlier, Penn wrote to his secretary in Philadelphia, “Herewith comes the Palatines.” He wanted them to be treated “with tenderness and love,” so that they would recommend coming to Pennsylvania to their Mennonite relatives. I write about this in a forthcoming book entitled, “This Very Ground, This Crooked Affair.” I share your feelings about learning to realize that our people were relative latecomers to land long inhabited by others. I feel less content with the memory of the northern Indians we referred to as the Six Nations, because they collaborated with William Penn’s son Thomas to get rid of the last Lenapes, who had to leave, and eventually (mostly) wound up in what became Oklahoma. — John L. Ruth, Harleysville, PA

    Like

    • Rick Martin November 24, 2020 / 8:39 am

      Thanks, John! I’m quite flattered to see that so many people of anabaptist heritage from all over the place are discovering my little project and finding it interesting. I’ve certainly had fun doing the research and putting it all together. I’ll keep my eye out for your book.

      Like

Leave a comment