A Very Useful Map

I thought I should share with you the link to a map that I have found very useful over the past few years: Sam Steiner’s “Mennonite Churches and Amish Districts in Ontario” (I’ve written about Steiner’s wonderful history of Ontario Mennonites elsewhere on this blog).

This map was created with Google My Maps and shows the location of every Mennonite meetinghouse and church and every Amish community in Ontario. The map uses different coloured markers to identify the different Mennonite and Amish conferences. When you click on a marker for a Mennonite meeting place, the conference and street address are listed in the sidebar, along with, in some cases, a photo of the building. Because Amish congregations meet in members’ homes, the marker just shows the general area of the community; the address displayed in the sidebar doesn’t necessarily refer to a meeting place.

I have used this map extensively in my research for this blog. I’ve also used it to identify which sect the people belong to when I run across a meetinghouse or community while I’m traveling around Ontario.

You can interact with the embedded map below, or you can open it in a separate window by clicking the “expand” icon in the top right corner of the map below or by clicking here. I would suggest you save the bookmark, as I have, for quick and easy reference.

3 thoughts on “A Very Useful Map

  1. Arlene Martin December 31, 2023 / 1:02 pm

    Thanks Rick for all the work and research you have done.
    Happy New Year to you and Sande.

    Arlene

    Like

  2. samjaysteiner December 31, 2023 / 4:09 pm

    Thanks, Rick, for noticing the project from several years ago. I have not kept it up in the past two or so years, so it’s dated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rick Martin December 31, 2023 / 5:21 pm

      I love this map, Sam, and, after I discovered it, I learned how to create maps in Google so I could make the map of all my ancestors’ homes, churches, and gravesites. So thank you for also pushing me to learn that new skill.

      As to its being out of date, I did notice that there’s no mention of the fact that the old Orthodox meeting house on Lawson Line burned down a few years ago.

      Like

Leave a comment